Back from the past

11406889_791997064241247_205303123541836937_n

It’s been awhile since I posted. I guess facebook took up most of my time up until now. Today marks a new era after 6 years since my last post. A lot has changed since then. I left my previous employment with RD Fishing PNG Ltd. and went to work for Barrick Porgera Mine up in the highlands of Papua New Guinea in Enga Province.  I suppose the new job, the new environment and adjusting to a new life of Fly in Fly out (FIFO) roster was more of a reason why I neglected the blog.  Being away from the family in Madang and Lae was the part I hated most about the job but I guess I got used to it.  My work colleagues became my family for three weeks on site at Porgera until I flew out on field break to Lae.  Once in Lae Morobe Province, I jumped on a highway PMV to travel to Madang Province via the deteriorating Madang Ramu highway. It takes about 6 hours on average to get from Lae to Madang but the road conditions make the trip longer; about 10 to 11 hours.

There are countless tales encountered along the way and I will keep you posted. The last trip was crazy. I will tell you all about it in my next post.

 

Published by

Jakeman's 10-20

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace." - Jimmy Hendrix (1942 - 1970)

Leave a Reply

